HomeIndiaWho is Revanth Reddy to be next Telangana chief minister, swearing-in on...

Who is Revanth Reddy to be next Telangana chief minister, swearing-in on Thursday

Who is Revanth Reddy to be next Telangana chief minister, swearing-in on Thursday

NEW DELHI, INDIA (PTI) Telangana Congress chief A Revanth Reddy, who switched from the TDP in 2017 and spearheaded the successful electoral campaign against the BRS, was on Tuesday named as the new chief minister of the state.

Announcing the decision at the party headquarters here on Tuesday, AICC general secretary K C Venugopal said the swearing-in of the 54-year-old leader will take place on December 7 in Hyderabad.

Venugopal, however, did not say who all would join the government.

READ MORE : India’s BJP set to win three of four key India state elections

Who is Revanth Reddy

After graduating from Osmania University, Revanth Reddy was a member of Hindutva student group, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), while he was a student. From being active in politics from the start, in 2007, Revanth Reddy was elected as an MLC as an independent candidate. Later, he joined the Telugu Desam Party. He won the Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections in 2014 from Kodangal seat.

Revanth is known to take on KCR and his family — son and minister K Tarakarama Rao; daughter K Kavitha; and nephew T Harish Rao — in public speeches and interviews. In 2020, he was arrested in Hyderabad in connection with ”illegal” use of a drone to take pictures of a building, which he has alleged belonged to a state minister and being built in violation of rules.

He was appointed the TPCC chief in June 2021. Since then, Revanth has been strengthening his image as a combative Opposition leader.

In a further boost to his profile, the Congress this time chose Revanth to take on BRS chief and Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao from Kamareddy – apart from repeating him in Kodangal.

“I wholeheartedly express my gratitude to honourable AICC president Shri Kharge ji, Mother of Telangana our beloved Soniamma, ever inspiring leader Rahul Gandhi ji, charismatic Priyanka Gandhi ji, AICC General Secretary (Org) K C Venugopalji, Deputy CM of Karnataka D K Shivakumar ji and Incharge General Secretary- Telangana Manikrao Thakare and last but not the least our Congress soldiers who stoowho stood by us through thick and thin,” Reddy posted on X. Venugopal said Revanth Reddy was working as the PCC president and is a dynamic leader who campaigned in this election extensively with other senior leaders.

“After considering the report of observers and after discussion with senior leaders, the Congress president has decided to go with Revanth Reddy as the leader of the Congress LegislLegislature Party (CLP) in Telangana,” he said.

“We have already given a promise to the people of Telangana with our guarantees. We are very sure that the first and foremost priority of this new government is to fulfil the aspirations of the people of Telangana, especially the guarantees given to the people,” he asserted. He said the Congress Legislature Party held a meeting in Hyderabad on Monday to decide the new CLP leader, which was attend by observers D K Shivakumar, Manikrao Thakre, Deepa Dasmunshi, K Muraleedharam, K J George and Ajoy Kumar.

“They unanimously entrusted the decision of CLP to the Congress President,” he said, adding that the detailed report on the observations about the CLP meeting by observers was handed over to the party chief on Tuesday. He said the CLP meeting had also adopted resolutions thanking the people of Telangana and the leadership including Congress chief Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi for extensively campaigning in Telangana. Shivakumar and Thakre were present as Venugopal announced the party high command’s decision on Telangana. He did not answer queries on how many ministers would be sworn in and whether there would be any deputy chief ministers.

From Local News sources | (Edited by : Samuel Bunny)

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube |