HomeSportsIndia vs Afghanistan – Third T20 cricket match, India beat Afghanistan after...

India vs Afghanistan – Third T20 cricket match, India beat Afghanistan after 2 superovers

India vs Afghanistan – Third T20 cricket match, India beat Afghanistan after 2 superovers

BANGLURU (DT SPORTS) – India beat Afghanistan in a thrilling final T20 of the three-match series at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.
The match was tied after Afghanistan levelled India’s total of 212 runs.

It was tied again after the first Super Over when India tied Afghanistan’s target of 16 runs in the over.

India finally won in the second Super Over after India scored 11-2, but Afghanistan fell short as they lost two wickets for just one run.
This was India’s last T20 international before the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup in the United States and the Caribbean in June.

READ MORE :Finn Allen posts record knock as New Zealand dominate in Dunedin

Rohit Sharma’s fifth T20 century and Rinku Singh’s second half century led India score 212/4 in 20 overs.

Earlier, riding on skipper Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 69-ball 121 and Rinku Singh’s 69 off 39 deliveries, India staged a remarkable recovery to post 212 for four after slipping to 22 for four in the fifth over.

In response, Afghanistan also concluded their innings at 212, with Gulbadin Naib delivering a remarkable 23-ball 55 to spearhead his team’s impressive comeback.

Fareed Ahmad Malik emerged as Afghanistan’s most successful bowler, boasting excellent figures of 3/20, even as Rohit and Rinku posed challenges for the Afghan bowlers.

Opting to bat first, India faced early setbacks, losing four quick wickets to Afghanistan pacers. Fareed Ahmad dismissed Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, and Sanju Samson, with both Kohli and Samson departing for golden ducks.

Azmatullah Omarzai claimed the wicket of Shivam Dube (1). Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh stabilized the innings and then launched an assault on the Afghan bowlers.

Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 121 marked his fifth T20 century, establishing him as the sole batter with five centuries in T20 cricket. Rinku Singh also contributed with a half-century (69*), propelling India to a total of 212/4 in 20 overs.

The energized Indian squad, led by Rohit Sharma, aims to clinch a clean sweep in the three-match T20 series against Afghanistan, securing a 6-wicket victory at Holkar Stadium in Indore on January 14.

The third and final T20 match between India and Afghanistan is set to take place at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Wednesday. The match will be broadcast on the Sports 18 network and live-streamed on JioCinema, commencing at 7 pm (IST).

Before this T20I match, both India and Afghanistan faced each other three times in the T20 World Cups once in the Asia Cup and twice in the previous bilateral series. India have won all five matches.

India vs Afghanistan Live Score Updates, 3rd T20: Pitch report

M Chinnaswamy Stadium’s pitch is known to favour the batters and is considered to be a paradise due to being flat and ideal for batting. The boundaries are shorter. So the team winning the toss should bat first.

India vs Afghanistan Live Score Updates, 3rd T20: Weather report

The weather conditions will be supportive on match day, with no rain prediction. Also, the temperature will remain around 20.8 degrees Celsius, with a humidity of 78% expected.

India vs Afghanistan Live Score Updates, 3rd T20: Highlights

  1.  India win toss and skipper Rohit Sharma said the Indian squad will bat first.
  2.  Wicket!! Yashasvi (4) OUT. Fareed Ahmad dismisses him on the third delivery as Mohammad Nabi takes a difficult catch. India scored 18/1 runs in 2.3 overs.
  3.  After dismissing Yashasvi in the third delivery, Fareed Ahmad departs Virat Kohli for a duck as Ibrahim Zadran takes then catch.
  4.  Wicket!! Dube OUT on the last delivery of Azmatullah Omarzai as Rahmanullah Gurbaz picks up a catch. India scored 21/3 runs in 4 overs.
  5.  Fareed Ahmad departs Sanju Samson on the third delivery, as Mohammad Nabi takes the catch. Samson goes for a duck. India scored 22/4 in 5 overs.
  6.  India scored 50 runs in 8.4 overs (52 balls).
  7.  5th Wicket partnership of 50 runs comes in 43 balls (RG Sharma 26, RK Singh 23, Ex 3)
  8.  Rohit Sharma completes 50 off 41 balls. 
  9.  India complete 100 runs in 13.2 overs (80 balls)
  10.  5th Wicket partnership of 100 runs comes in 66 balls (RG Sharma 59, RK Singh 36, Ex 5)
  11.  India complete 150 runs in 17.5 overs (108 balls)
  12.  5th Wicket partnership of 150 runs comes in 88 balls (RG Sharma 96, RK Singh 51, Ex 7)
  13.  India complete 200 runs in 19.4 overs (120 balls), Extras 17
  14.  Innings Break: India – 212/4 in 20.0 overs (RG Sharma 121, RK Singh 69)

15. A superb catch by Washington Sundar ends Rahmanullah Gurbaz’s innings, Kuldeep Yadav strikes.

16. Ibrahim Zadran stumped by Sanju Samson off the bowling of Washington Sundar.

17. Azmatullah Omarzai, comes in the middle and departs as he tries to play a big shot and caught by Ravi Bishnoi for a duck.

18. Sundar strikes as he gets Mohammad Nabi caught by Avesh Khan in the deep. Third wicket for him.

19. Karim Janat is run out by Sanju Samson.

20. Avesh Khan strikes as he gets the wicket of Najibullah with an excellent catch by Virat Kohli.

Some input from live mint

Follow Us: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Youtube |